Free Web Quote | Contact Tim | Listen Live

Submit your IT and
Computer Questions
To DigitalRadioNation

• On Time
• Online
• Anytime

 

Digital Nation Radio Broadcasts Topics

Technology In Today's Schools and How to Contact Legislators regarding Budget Cuts!
Author: Tim Taylor

 

Special Guests of Orange County Public Schools Topic: Technology in Today’s Schools:


Kevin Elliot,
French Teacher, Robinswood Middle School

-Lived in France (4 years)

-Using Technology in Classroom
 

Harrison Peters, Principal of Robinswood Middle School

-3 years as Principal at Robinswood

-Embrassing Technology in Classroom
 

Rudy Gatling, IT Support Representative specifically working at Robinswood Middle School

Technology Maintenance

Upgrades, Software Issues, Hardware Issues

Installations

Server Maintenance

Computer / Technology Support

Most schools have 1-3 administrators

Rudy Gatling keeps 500 machines running!

Amy Legross, Student 
-7th Grade
-Used technology in the classroom
-She already knows French so technology helps her use other resources to learn more rather than sit and review what she already knows from a text book. 

 

Technology uses at Robinswood Middle School

-Internet based programs

-Student Databases

 

Benefits of Technology in School System

 

  • Incredible difference in concentration
  • Keeps kids interests
  • Multiple points of entry for learning new things
  • Most students are taught at a General Skill Level. With computers in the classroom teachers can tailor courses to help students that are behind catch up and the advanced students can be challenged.

 

The difference between the “Past Language Labs and Today’s  Technology.

Language Labs were actually more expensive to run that today’s PC’s Labs.

In Mr. Elliot’s French class the use Freeware programs help record students French lessons that can later be analyzed individually and help in determining where they need assistance.


How technology in schools helps prepare kids for careers in their future!

-Technology is a big part of students life

-Technology has to be embraced in the classroom because that is how our kids today communicate, play and learn.

-Discussion on the Amazon’s Kindle could save $ with textbooks

 

Budget Cuts in Public Schools

What can parents do to let our Legislators know we don’t want funding to be cut from our schools?

 

  • Call, Write, email to legislators
  • Rally
  • Visits
  • Meet with Local and State Legislators

 

Educating our Students Benefits our society!

 

How can I contact my legislators?

 

Below is a list of the Orange County legislator’s information.  To find your Legislators outside of Orange, use the following link to the State of Florida site where you can access your elected legislators by entering your Zip-Code.

 

Outside of Orange County

<http://www.flsenate.gov/Legislators/index.cfm?Mode=Find%20Your%20Legislators&Submenu=3&Tab=Legislators&CFID=120548023&CFTOKEN=28117714>

 

 

http://www.flsenate.gov/Legislators/index.cfm?Mode=Find%20Your%20Legislators&Submenu=3&Tab=Legislators&CFID=120548023&CFTOKEN=28117714

 

To contact your School board Members, use the following link to the OCPS web site.

 

http://www.orangecta.org/Central%20Florida%20Legislators.htm#School_Board_Members<http://www.orangecta.org/Central%20Florida%20Legislators.htm>

 

Review your contract at www.orangecta.org<http://www.orangecta.org> or www.oespa.org<http://www.oespa.org>

 

 

Orange County State Congressional Delegation

Governor Charlie Crist

State of Florida

The Capitol

400 S. Monroe Street

Tallahassee, FL 32399

850/488-4441

850/488-7146

 

 

WEB FORM

 

 

Representative Larry Cretul

6911 S.W. Highway 200

Ocala, FL 34476

352/873-6564

Larry.Cretul@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Senator Thad Altman

6767 N Wickham Rd Suite 211

Melbourne, FL 32940

321-752-3138

altman.thad.web@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Lee Constantine

378 Centerpointe Cir, Suite 1268

Altamonte Springs, FL 32701

407-331-9675

407-262-7580 fax

Constantine.lee.s22@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Andy Gardiner

1013 E Michigan Street

Orlando, FL 32806

407-428-5800

407-428-5802 fax

gardiner.andy.web@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Gary Siplin

1436 N Pine Hills Rd

Orlando, FL 32808

407-297-2071

407-522-2153 fax

siplin.gary.web@flsenate.gov

 

Representative Sandy Adams

2074 Winter Springs Blvd

Oviedo, FL 32765

407-977-4020

407-977-4022 fax

sandy.adams@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Dean Cannon

1992 Mizell Ave Suite 200

Winter Park, FL 32792

407-623-5740

407-623-5742 fax

dean.cannon@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Steve Crisafulli

2460 N. Courtenay Pkwy, Suite 108

Merritt Island, FL 32953

321-449-5111

321-449-5113 fax

steve.crisafulli@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Chris Dorworth

1055 AAA Drive Suite 205

Heathrow, FL 32746

407-333-1815

407-333-1817 fax

chris.dorworth@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Eric Eisnaugle

2003 Curry Ford Rd Suite 1

Orlando, FL 32806

407-893-3141

407-893-3143 fax

eric.eisnaugle@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Mike Horner

323 Pleasant St

Kissimmee, FL 34741

407-943-3077

407-943-3078 fax

mike.horner@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Brian Nelson

409 S Park Ave

Apopka, FL 32703

407-880-4414

407-884-2025 fax

brian.nelson@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Scott Plakon

1855 W State Road 434, Suite 242

Longwood, FL 32750

407-262-7520

407-262-7522 fax

scott.plakon@myfloridahouse.gov

 

 

 

Representative Steve Precourt

310 S Dillard St Suite 400

Winter Garden, FL 34787

407-814-6138

407-814-6163 fax

steve.precourt@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Scott Randolph

701 E South Street Suite 100

Orlando, FL 32801

407-893-3084

407-893-3086 fax

scott.Randolph@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Darren Soto

5425 S Semoran Blvd Suite 1B

Orlando, FL 32822

407-249-4743

407-249-4745 fax

Darren.soto@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Representative Geraldine Thompson

511 W South Street Suite 204

Orlando, FL 32805

407-245-1511

407-245-1513 fax

Geraldine.Thompson@myfloridahouse.gov

 

 


Listen to Digital Nation Radio Live
Free Software Downloads
Download Archived Shows
Taylor Works   Digital Nation Radio Sponsors

Contact TaylorWorks, INC. 407-478-6600 | info@taylorworks.net

Stay Connected to Digital Nation Radio
Clear Wireless internet Microsoft Local Business TaylorWorks Digital Nation Radio Home Page Mail Digital Nation RadioFacebook Fan PageTwitter FeedBlogspotYoutube Channel Linkedin Profile